Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
No. We use the Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy located in Donelson, Tennessee. You will reside at the academy during training. The normal work week while attending the academy, is Sunday afternoons to Thursday evenings, and then you get to come home on the weekend.
Show All Answers
We would encourage you to immediately call the police department and speak with the current supervisor on duty. We would also encourage you to utilize our complain or compliment an officer link on the website.
When an officer issues a citation that you don’t agree with, we suggest that you go to the scheduled court date on the bottom of your citation and discuss it with the city’s judge. The judge will schedule a trial on the officer’s court date so that you can ask any questions to the officer who issued you a citation. It will be up to the officer to prove the allegation and the city judge makes the final decision. Officers and supervisors do not debate traffic related violations in person or over the phone.
Contacting an attorney is a good idea to represent you however, most traffic violations do not require an attorney and can be handled by the offender.
Yes, the police can search the vehicle while on scene-incident to arrest.
Remain calm. If feasible roll down all windows and then place both hands on the steering wheel. Wait for the officers instructions.
Drivers who have been involved in a traffic accident which occurs on private property are not required to submit a report to the TN department of safety. Reports submitted to the TN department of safety are only required when the traffic crash occurred on a public highway/roadway.
Passengers in motor vehicles are not required to give any identification to officers unless the passenger is suspected of a crime.
No, we adjust our enforcement to the specific trends of crime that are happening to mitigate harm.
Yes. If it is on private property the owner of the property may have it towed at their expense.
Your valid driver license, your current vehicle registration, and proof of insurance.
It is illegal to manipulate a cellphone or an electronic device while in physical control of a vehicle, on any public roadway. This law applies if you are parked or at a stoplight. Earpieces and other Bluetooth communication devices which are hands free are legal and can be used while driving. In case of an emergency, hand held devices may still be used to communicate with emergency services in the event of an Emergency (Effective 07-1-19).
No, all new hires will start as a cadet. As their time increases with the department they will have ample opportunities for advancement.
No. A large percentage of our employees who have prior military service are currently working for our department.
No. You have to be 21 years of age at the time you submit your application.
Yes. You have to be within a 60 day window of your Expiration of Term of Service “ETS” before you can apply.
While The Clarksville Police Department does not offer tuition assistance or reimbursement, by virtue multiple Universities offer special tuition pricing as a result of being a Law Enforcement Officer.
Yes. There is a study guide for the NCJOSI2, which is the validated law enforcement exam used by the department. It is of comprised of 200 questions (80 cognitive, 120 integrity).
The study guide is not provided by the CPD and can be purchased by the applicant at their own expense.
No. A military security clearance background investigation does not substitute for our department ‘s background investigation.
No. The department pays for the academy. You will be paid while you are attending the academy and transportation is provided to and from the Academy.
Not as long as you live with 60 minutes of our headquarters building which is located at 135 Commerce Street, Clarksville, Tennessee.